Tired and hopeful

Overlooking Tirana from the top of Kruje Mountain on a chilly December afternoon (Adriatic Sea in far background at right)

What a year so far! After a full summer of catching up with family and connecting with friends, I found myself in the position of leading prayer updates regarding my girlfriend’s nerve-wracking journey out of a dangerous part of the world. Now she’s back safe, and we’re engaged! And even so, it feels like life hasn’t slowed down yet. Lots of introductions of family and friends. Cultural hoops and protocols. Unexpected adjustment reactions including some health crisis stuff. Life apart again while she works in another city nearby. All while “yours truly” teaches and adapts new classes on top of other courses and school responsibilities. And wedding planning is beginning to start in earnest for our big date in March…Phew! This is the story God’s given us. Gratefulness is almost certainly the right response, but it has been a lot to handle, in a sort of relentless way.

Since moving to Albania in 2016 I have yet to experience what I’d call a routine year, and school year 2021-22 is no exception to this “norm”. Gratefully, I can say that God has visibly provided our needs week to week, but the stress and activity have remained high. My sixth year at GDQ has been a mixture of “first-year” stress and veteran expectations.  I’ve taken on the Algebra II course with an entirely new curriculum, and I’m teaching the normal at-level (non-AP) Physics with some major, on-the-fly renovations since I taught it my actual first year here (…my implementation of labs is still pathetic, but the lessons are greatly improved).  Even our beloved Worldviews class requires regular tweaking and updating week-to-week still trying to find a well-paced groove for the course in its current iteration. (Probably needless to say, I intend to take on no new courses next school year—I’m feeling the need for a break!) But the students have all been fantastic and seem to be genuinely benefiting from my efforts.  Thank you for your support. Once again, I want to encourage you that your participation with me here directly impacts students’ lives from various backgrounds and on many diverse paths into adulthood and community elsewhere. What an amazing privilege for all of us!

A few weeks ago, part of our rented high school property was purchased by a new landlord, none other than the neighborhood mosque for eventual office-space! There were a few weeks of heightened uncertainty, but thankfully we have come to an agreement allowing us to keep our school in its current location for a couple more years yet. This provides a tidy deadline and clear urgency for GDQ to renew its efforts in earnest for finding a combined K-12 property somewhere in or around Tirana. Please pray for wisdom and guidance in the building search!

As I write, Omicron continues to set records, Europe groans under the threat of another geopolitical crisis, and the States suffer inflation and the pangs of a labor shortage. Happy New Year everybody! Ana and I get to be a pandemic couple, hoping that we can swing a normal wedding even as travel restrictions remain very fluid for all.  But, God continues to work his plans that are so much more loving and compassionate and just than our own. I do ask that you pray for my mother, who just recently tested positive for a Covid variant and may have a tough battle ahead of her.

Instead of updating this blog every two or three months (as was my original intent starting this), I think I’ll send briefer video updates through email at those intervals, with these more detailed updates with pictures at larger intervals. For now, enjoy more pictures from this first half of the school year.

Blessings in Christ!

Nate

I remain confident of this:

    I will see the goodness of the Lord

    in the land of the living.

Wait for the Lord;

    be strong and take heart

    and wait for the Lord.  ~ Psalm 27:13-14

Leave a comment